General informationOn July 25, 2001, the jury decided on the outcome of phase 2 of the project competition for the BMW Welt. Guided by the high quality of the entries and aware of the enormous effort made by the competitors, the jury awarded 1st prize to two offices: sauerbruch hutton, berlin and COOP Himmelb(l)au, Vienna.

After a third phase of design development, BMW decided on the COOP Himmelb(l)au proposal on December 12, 2001.

Construction of the project, entitled "Event and Delivery Center" throughout the competition, began in 2003. The building was then opened in 2007 under the new title "BMW Welt".

For further information please visit:
SponsorBMW AG
TaskCustomers and visitors are to be offered a thematically integrated and emotionally intense total experience with BMW in connection with the delivery of new cars.
ProcedureIn cooperation with the City of Munich, BMW AG held a restricted planning competition proceeded by an international application process. The procedure was structured into an anonymous first phase with 27 participants and a cooperative second phase with 8 participants.
JuryArchitectural jurors:

Prof. Marc Angélil, Los Angeles/Zurich
Prof. Dietmar Eberle, Lochau
Prof. Dietrich Fink, Munich
Prof. Dr. Gunter Henn, Munich
Prof. Peter Kulka, Cologne
Prof. Ulrike Lauber, Munich
Christiane Thalgott, Planning Commissioner, Munich
Michael Triebswetter, Kassel
Konrad Wohlhage, Berlin

Alternate architectural jurors:

Jürgen Böge, Hamburg
Gerd Burla, Zurich
Franz Meyer, Planning Department, Munich
Prof. Maya Reiner, Munich

Technical jurors:

Prof. Joachim Milberg, Chairman of the Board, BMW AG
Christian Ute, Mayor of Munich
Ernst Baumann, Board of Directors Human Resources, BMW AG
Dr. Michael Ganal, Board of Directors Distribution, BMW AG
Karl-Heinz Kalbfell, Head of Marketing Group
Jutta Koller, Munich City Council Bündnis 90 / Die Grünen
Constanze Lindner-Schädlich, Munich City Council SPD
Hans Podiuk, Munich City Council CSU

Alternate technical jurors:

Klaus Bejenke, Project head, BMW AG
Thomas Ruhfaß, Munich City Council CSU
Dr. Bernd Schaible, Head of Central Services BMW AG
Christine Strobl, Munich City Council SPD
Ralph Weyler, Head of Distribution Germany, BMW AG
Dr. Reinhard Wieczorek, Department of Labor and Economics, City of Munich
Jörg Zintzmeyer, Interbrand Zintzmeyer & Lux AG, Zurich
Participants272 offices applied to participate in the international competition, of which 28 were invited to participate. The following 27 offices were took part in the first phase of the competition:

COOP Himmelb(l)au, Prix & Swiczinsky GmbH, Vienna
sauerbruch hutton architekten partnerschaft, Berlin
Zaha Hadid Ltd., London
Morphosis, Thom Mayne, Santa Monica
MVRDV, Rotterdam
Auer + Weber Freie Architekten, Munich
Triad Architekten, Berlin
Feichtinger Architectes SARL, Paris
Königs Architekten, Cologne
Reiser + Umemoto, New York
Barkow Leibinger Architekten, Berlin
J. Mayer H.-Architekten, Berlin
Claude Vasconi & Partners, Paris
Snøhetta AS, Oslo
Dominique Perrault Architecte, Paris
Massimiliano Fuksas Architetto, Rome
Zamp Kelp, Düsseldorf
Allmann, Sattler, Wappner Architekten, Munich
Asymptote Architecture, New York
Ackermann und Partner, Munich
b&k+Architekten Dipl.-Ing.Stadtplaner, Cologne
Fumihiko Maki & Maki and Associates, Tokyo
Schneider + Schumacher, Frankfurt a.M.
Wiel Arets & Associates, Maastricht
Gigon Guyer Architekten, Zurich
Future Systems, London
Jan Störmer Architekten, Hamburg
Prizes and fees1st prize: Euro 43.000.-
1st prize: Euro 43.000.-
3rd prize: Euro 24.000.-
4th prize: Euro 12.000.-
Remuneration per participant for submitting a design in the 2nd phase: Euro 13.000.-