Current newsAfter the first building phase of the ThyssenKrupp Quartier in Essen opened in June 2010, the second building phase was completed in July 2015.

On November 21 and 22, 2006, the design competition for the ThyssenKrupp Quartier in Essen came to a successful conclusion after the phase 2 jury meeting. In the two-day meeting, the following five participants were unanimously awarded the following prizes:

1st prizeChaix & Morel et Associés, Paris / JSWD Architekten und Planer, Cologne
2nd prize Architekten Brüning Klapp Rein, Essen
3rd prize Zaha Hadid Architects, London
3rd prize Manfred Nagel with DHBT, Kiel
5th prize KSP Engel und Zimmermann Architekten, Frankfurt

Competition results are comprehensively documented on the following page:
SponsorThyssenKrupp AG represented by ThyssenKrupp Real Estate GmbH
LocationAltendorfer Straße 120, Essen, Germany
ProcedureThe procedure was published as an open, two-phase planning competition based on the framework of the Guidelines for Competitions (RAW 2004, para. 2.1). The first phase of the competition was anonymous.

In order to enable constructive dialogue between participants and the jury and greater comprehension of the continued planning process, the second phase was not anonymous and conducted as a cooperative competition following RAW 2004, para. 2.3.
EligibilityEligible for participation were persons who were accredited and practicing on the day of competition publication with the professional certification as an architect in their country of residence.

Due to the complexity of the design task, collaboration with an urban planner, landscape architect, building engineer as well as an expert in building services was strongly advised for both competition phases.
Fees and prize moneyEach participant of the 2nd phase of the competition was remunerated with a fee of EUR 25,000.- for submission of a complete design entry following stipulations in the competition brief.

In addition, EUR 260,000,- (net) was made available for distribution as prize money. The following prizes were awarded:

1st prize EUR 100,000,-
2nd prize EUR 75,000.-
3rd prize EUR 50,000.-
4th prize EUR 25,000.-
5th prize EUR 10,000.-
JuryArchitectural jurors

Hans-Jürgen Best, Head of Planning, City of Essen
Prof. Rebecca Chestnutt, Architect, Berlin
Prof. Jochem Jourdan, Architect, Frankfurt
Kaspar Kraemer, Architect, Cologne
Prof. Ulrike Lauber, Architect, Munich
Hartmut Miksch, Architect, Düsseldorf
Simone Raskob, Department of Construction, City of Essen
Prof. Peter Zlonicky, Architect and City Planner, Munich

General jurors

Dr. Ekkehard D. Schulz, Chairman of the Board ThyssenKrupp AG, Düsseldorf
Ralph Labonte, Member of the Board, ThyssenKrupp AG, Düsseldorf
Dr. Martin Grimm, Chairman of Board of Management ThyssenKrupp Real Estate GmbH, Essen
Oliver Wittke, Minister of Transportation and Construction, NRW
Dr. Wolfgang Reiniger, Mayor of the City of Essen
Dr. Oliver Scheytt, Head of Department of Culture, City of Essen
Prof. Hans-Jörg Bullinger, President of the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft Munich

Alternate architectural jurors

Thomas Franke, Department Head, City Planning Essen
Wolfgang Greling, Architect, ThyssenKrupp Real Estate GmbH, Essen
Klaus Martin Hoffmann, Architect, ECE, Hamburg
Prof. Kirsten Schemel, Architect, Münster
Friedhelm Terfrüchte, Landscape Architect, Essen

Alternate general jurors

Dr. Jürgen Claassen, Representative of ThyssenKrupp AG, Düsseldorf
Dr. Detlef Hunsdiek, Representative of ThyssenKrupp AG, Düsseldorf
Peter Dollhausen, Head of Human Resources ThyssenKrupp AG, Düsseldorf
Barbara Scholten, Head of Corporate Branding + Publishing ThyssenKrupp AG, Düsseldorf
Klaus-Dieter Emmeluth, Managing Director, ThyssenKrupp Real Estate GmbH, Essen
Annette Häfelinger, häfelinger + wagner design, Munich
Dr. Wilhelm Bauer, Director Fraunhofer Institute IAO Stuttgart
Distribution of competition brief 1st phase19 June 2006
Online-Forum 1st phase19 - 26 June 2006
Registration period15 May - 30 June 2006
Participants' colloquium 1st phase (with site visit)30 June 2006
Submission deadline 1st phase31 July 2006
Submission deadline 1st phase model7 August 2006
Jury meeting 1st phase22 and 23 August 2006
Distribution of competition brief 2nd phase6 September 2006
Online-Forum 2nd phase6 - 13 September 2006
Participants' colloquium 2nd phase20 - 22 September 2006
Submission deadline 2nd phase 30 October 2006
Submission deadline 2nd phase model6 November 2006
Jury meeting 2nd phase21 and 22 November 2006